8 Comments
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Dame Karen

I got covid on January 13th and survived it and covid-pneumonia and a covid related stroke and medical trauma and rehab all while also managing multiple chronic illnesses and I just went back to work on Monday! Worked 2 days this week and then melted like delicate sugar work and called out today 🫠 we in this thing!

Expand full comment

My newest book came out in March! It's a Quick and Easy Guide to Asexuality and I think it's doing well (although the publishing house it came out of imploded a bit yesterday)

I also revamped my own Substack to be biweekly book reviews and it's already doing better than any of my previous ones! I lowered the subscription price and anyone who becomes a paid subscriber can choose a book for me to read. No one's subjected me to anything yet but I'm waiting....

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Dame Karen

Professionally, I recently launched a social media campaign that has been extremely successful and essentially tripled our engagement.

Personally, I've been trying various medications to find something that works with for some issues I'm having and I think we've finally (FINALLY) figured it out! It's so freeing to feel like your ship has been righted.

Expand full comment
Jul 17, 2022Liked by Dame Karen

I took a wood carving class and am in deep on hand carving my first spoon. It’s a deliberate exercise in slowing down because there are no shortcuts to be had, and I love seeing it slowly take shape! A friend asked me if there was a deeper meaning to it, if I was going to make and sell spoons now, etc. and I was just delighted to learn something new for the sake of it. No end goal here, just process!

Expand full comment
Jul 21, 2022Liked by Dame Karen

I wrote a picture book about Stacey Abrams! I was a little burned out and kind of panicky and I put on a lot of pressure on myself. Maybe I thought a bunch of first graders would read it, rise up, and save our democracy? Anyway, I did the best I could and I hope it makes a difference

Expand full comment