74 Comments
author

Contemporary Hilarity: this bananas little video starts out at 9 and goes allllll the way up to like 19. I have watched it at least 10 times today & have laughed so hard I count it as my abs workout forr the week: https://twitter.com/swembo2000/status/1247573058073706496

Expand full comment
author

Karen C. here. Totally Absurd Comic Genius for me has consisted of sketch comedies, which are not usually my thing at all but I guess maybe they are? Favs are I Think You Should Leave on Netflix, A Black Lady Sketch Show on HBO, and Baroness Von Sketch Show which is on IFC but I watched it via a Sling TV free trial. LAFFS!

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

SCHITT'S CREEK

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I absolutely MUST share the documentary Bathtubs over Broadway. Here's my pitch: MUSICALS, but WEIRD; under 90 minutes long; I laughed; I learned things that will be interesting to bring up at future dinner parties (when allowed again); and I HAPPY CRIED. No, not "cried because my emotions are a mess and everything comes out as crying" cried...actual tears of joy. Find it on Netflix.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

My husband and I finally decided to start watching Bojack Horseman, and we're having a great time with it so far!

I read a lot, and I keep wanting to reread Tamora Pierce's Tortall books (lady knights). They're the ultimate comfort books for me, and I try to read them no more than once a year. But I redirected myself into The Blue Sword, about a different lady warrior, kidnapped to fight a desert war, which is very epic and serious. Another good recent read was Unnatural Magic, which had this awesome relationship between a domineering female troll and a meek soldier dude. It was so charming and fresh.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

We watched John Mulaney and the Sack Lunch Bunch with our 4-year-old and his genuine love of Mr. Music brought me a brief bit of joy and a reprieve from watching The Secret Life of Pets 2 and Detective Pikachu back-to-back on a loop forever.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

The only thing working for me right now is Mr Bean (currently on prime) and rereading Tamora Pierce novels. 10/10 would recommend.

Expand full comment

I’ve been trying to keep it light with Schitt’s Creek and the audiobook of The Wedding Date, but after the news today I broke down and listened to a John Prine compilation and Stay Awake, and spent some quality time sobbing. I think our current crisis hit me today in a way that it hadn’t before.

Schitt’s is, as you know, a goddamn delight. I’d been meaning to check out The Wedding Date since I read about it here, and I love it. If there are better people to shelter in place with than Alexa and Drew, I haven’t met them yet.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Karen

This is so random but HBO just released a movie called Good Boys and it was the funniest and (feminist?!) laugh break I have had in a while. All you need to know before watching is the best line from the film, which is: "Shut up, Atticus! Everyone knows your mom plagiarized that cookbook!" God I needed a belly laugh like that.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

The Bon Appetit YouTube channel. Especially Gourmet Makes, It's Alive, and the "Making Perfect: Pizza" Series. Also, "Portrait of a Lady on Fire" on Hulu. Subtitles mean you can't be on another screen and it's so beautiful and so quiet that I sat stock still for nearly two hours and soaked in the story.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I have been rewatching my favorite murders of the charming variety (Miss Fisher), absurd variety (Criminal Minds), and real life variety (Forensic Files and Unsolved Mysteries). I haven't had the brain power for anything else except video games, which I have fully given myself over to at this point. Stardew Valley and Animal Crossing are the only creative outlets my brain can manage.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I just devoured Erin Morgenstern's The Starless Sea. Transported me to another world filled with so many lovely literary references. It reminded me of reading Inkheart when I was younger.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Rosehaven!!!!!!! About two friends moving to a small town in Tasmania and trying to be real estate agents. Kind of like Playing House, Parks and Rec, Schitt's Creek. All three seasons on Amazon w/ Sundance Now. https://www.amazon.com/Rosehaven-Ep-1/dp/B077PJ3ZV2/ref=sr_1_1?crid=F9909FAD4TFU&dchild=1&keywords=rosehaven+season+1&qid=1586377802&sprefix=rosehaven%2Caps%2C611&sr=8-1

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I L O V E Deanna Raybourn's Veronica Speedwell mysteries. Adventurous lepidopterist Veronica Speedwell gallivants about Victorian England solving mysteries with her gloriously muscular taxidermist/surgeon companion Stoker. Sexual tension & banter, cast of colorful characters, lavish descriptions of 1880s London (and elsewhere). 10/10 cozy & delightful.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Solo dance parties to 80's Nigerian pop and disco. https://open.spotify.com/album/2HrTsqwGyIXPvEAfZAwSYE

Also, watching anything with subtitles helps me focus on watching instead of dipping into my phone and continuing a mindless and anxiety-inducing Twitter scroll. Unorthodox on Netflix was super good!

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

My five year old and I just watched the Make Em Laugh clip and she laughed out loud the entire time. Thank you for that!!

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I read 10 (TEN) novels about a supernatural mercenary solving werewolf crimes in a post apocalyptic Atlanta.

(The Kate Daniels novels by Ilona Andrews, they were great!)

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

the books of Here for It, by R. Eric Thomas and Lindy West's The Witches are Coming are both so incredibly well written and offer short, punchy essays which will make you laugh, tear up, punch the air, stomp your foot, and want to share it immediately with others! AND you can support an independent book seller if you buy them online, as an added bonus :) check out Nowhere Bookshop which is run by the amazing Jenny Lawson, whose book, Furiously Happy, is also an incredible balm to the soul in these Weird Times.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I've been listening to The Poppy War audiobook, not necessarily lighthearted but immersive and distracting nonetheless! Also streaming The Bold Type, I Love Lucy, and Bob's Burgers for my lighthearted content--they're hitting the spot so far

Expand full comment

I seem to be doing the best with light mysteries right now. I reread two of the Goldie Schulz cozy mysteries, which follow the crime solving exploits of a caterer living in Colorado. They’re light and it occurred to me after I finished reading the first that another thing that is so soothing about them is that Goldie is really competent at figuring her way out of tricky situations, be they catering or crime related. I moved on to The Last Equation of Isaac Severy, which is a charming puzzle-mystery that people who liked The Westing Game or Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts would probably really enjoy.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I for some reason have only been able to focus on the tv show Psych. It's not perfect, but damn it's good comfort food.

Expand full comment
Apr 9, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Two lesser-noticed CW shows that I have been enjoying: Nancy Drew, which decided early on to shift heavily into supernatural silliness. Currently they’re dealing with a wrathful sea spirit. It’s not good, but it’s fun.

And Roswell, New Mexico which is much better than it has any right to be. It’s a remake of the late-90s show, but they aged the characters about 10 years. It may be a bit too real-world (for a show about aliens) if you’re looking for escapism, but it’s not afraid of taking its events seriously. A few episodes into Season 2, and it’s keeping the quality up.

Expand full comment
Apr 9, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Rewatching Parks & Rec and true crime books

Expand full comment
Apr 9, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I am

-watching: just finished Succession. Wow those people are terrible and I love them. Gerri and Roman are my faves but every character is so fully formed. And the writing. God it’s good.

I’m also watching law and order like it’s my job—recording reruns from obscure channels on my parents dvr like it’s high school again.

Reading: I’m balancing three books at once. In print: Master and Commander, a Travis McGee mystery for when I get tired of naVal battles. On audio: I am listening to Ballet Shoes while I needlepoint which is super soothing. If any one has recs for similar middle grade/YA (school stories, found families) I’m all ears.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Make ‘Em Laugh is truly one of my favourite moments in cinema!

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Frasier. Some of that writing is LOL witty.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I have taken the advice of Dame Margaret and watched Queens of Mystery with my free Acorn trial; I liked it very well and hope it gets another season to further develop the things I would like to see more of.

I have also begun watching The Good Wife for the first time, and... friends... I am living for it.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

The only things my brain currently has capacity for are largely cooking shows - I've been rewatching Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat near constantly (also rewatching Leverage, because it's my gold standard TV show). I've also been listening to Samin's new podcast, Home Cooking, which is a DELIGHT, as to be expected.

I just finished The Final Table on Netflix, which was entertaining and full of very pretty food and impressive techniques (although I feel like it's their attempt to make an Iron Chef show, which definitely did not work as well as Iron Chef, but was not great on addressing problems the food industry has had and is also a little too 'French cuisine is THE epitome of all cooking' which had me rolling my eyes).

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

If you're looking for a good audio book to enjoy with grade schoolers and parents, try The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy (of the Decemberists). Fun caper, great characters, and Bronson Pinchot narrates and does all the accents.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

The Conan O'Brien Needs a Friend podcast ep with Keegan Michael-Key is worth several re-listens, as is the one with Tig Notaro. Perfect for cooking to...

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I have enjoyed books set in totally different times (The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry and A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn), but today’s thing keeping me afloat is Queen’s set at Live Aid, which, yes, I am old enough to remember. 👵🏼 I haven’t seen Bohemian Rhapsody mostly because I can’t believe the time wouldn’t be better spent watching this a few more times. https://youtu.be/a87-SYfD0js

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Haven’t seen this in years- it’s a real tour de force!

Been reading Donna Leon’s Guido Brunetti mysteries and totally enjoying the escape to Venice. They are excellent audiobooks also.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I put off going anywhere near it due to Clowns, but honestly the narrative that is helping me get by and distract myself right now is IT by Stephen King. I’ve been burying myself in it, either book or movies, for a week or two and surprisingly it’s helped. Funnily, the story I used as a coping mechanism/distraction during my last personal crisis was LOTR, so I think maybe I just cling to stories of 7-9 misfits coming together in friendship and using hope and love and strength to fight evil?

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

I love Make Em Laugh!!

My focus being completely shot means I kinda have a scattershot approach. First Up. PBS overall is great but Lucy Worsley's documentaries are a delight, as well as Great Performances, so far I watched Celtic Women and k. d. lang. I also loved Moving Parts the Trixie Mattel Documentary (I being a sporadic Drag Race viewer at best). Books I just finished Guest Book by Leanne Shapton, which was the first thing I could bring myself to read. It's weird format makes it super palatable at least to me who is having a hard time reading. I also loved the YA Novel Only Mostly Devastated which I was surprised at how quickly I blitzed through. And lastly, the thing I have talked about the most is, The Secret Lives of Color which the book itself is a beautiful object but also it's broken down in to short details about specific colors so it's great to read a bit then put it back down. Also despite not really being a poetry person, Poetry has been super helpful to me right now.

And obviously, Animal Crossing

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2020Liked by Dame Sophie

Audiobooks are my go to right now. I've got Ted Chiang's Exhalation on right now, Carol is on tap. And the Fleabag the Scriptures to pair with the streaming stage show on Friday.

Expand full comment

Right now I am only capable of the lightest, fluffiest of things. The merengues of media. I am:

Playing: Animal Crossing.

Watching: Derry Girls for the 2nd (....4th) time, Mel Brooks movies, romantic comedies of the Worst But Also the Best variety (27 Dresses, Bridget Jones' Diary, etc)

Reading: anything by Alyssa Cole but especially her Reluctant Royals series. YA rom coms, feminist fantasy (esp Tamora Pierce)

Expand full comment

I can't focus on reading physical books right now, so I've been listening to the Witcher series on audio while I cook and do chores and play Animal Crossing. The narrator does a fantastic job with all the voices, and it's nice to spend time in a world where people can just go about their job of fighting actual giant monsters.

Expand full comment

I'm finally reading the Beka Cooper series by Tamora Pierce!

Expand full comment

Mysteries, like so many others, because in times of uncertainty, mysteries are so . . . certain. Right over wrong. Firm conclusions. Neat endings.

Reading: the Faye Kellerman books. Years ago, when they were new, I read the first few Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus books, but I hadn’t read any in years. I recently have been reading the latest ones, when Peter has retired from the LAPD and he and Rina have moved to upstate New York to be nearer their children and grandchildren. Meanwhile, I’ve started listening to the first book, The Ritual Bath. Good writing, great characters, not too gory or intense.

Watching: on BritBox, just watched the latest seasons of Father Brown and Death in Paradise. Just started Waking the Dead, about a cold-case team. And just before the library closed, I grabbed Season 1 of Castle—even though we’ve seen all 8 seasons, it’s fun to go back and re-watch the first season, especially to see how the characters were always who they are, and to watch how Castle looks at cases with the novelist’s eye.

Expand full comment

I just finished reading The Wicked + The Divine today and it was pretty great. About a week and a half ago I read all of Locke and Key. Thanks Hoopla app and Boston Public Library! Oh, speaking the BPL of I was just able to get my digital loan of Bellwether Rhapsody, so that’s next!

Expand full comment

I truly cannot recommend the video game Stardew Valley enough-- it is deeply soothing (you play a farmer!), it is not super hard (I really didn't play video games before this one), there are magical details, and it is utterly absorbing. Also it's cheap AF and you can play it on pretty much any computer or Switch or whatever you may have.

Expand full comment

Elder Scrolls Online! My first online multiplayer game. Perfect escape!

Expand full comment