22 Comments
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Margaret

OMG - Somebody Somewhere renewed for a third season?!?!?! That’s the nicest thing to happen today. I made it no further - going back now.

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

AND Slow Burn devoted to the absent-for-ethics-class Clarence Thomas?? O frabjous day! What I’d recommend for a beautiful, short and slightly mournful read is West by Carys Davies. I learned about it by listening to a BBC podcast, and it’s well worth a read. Finally, if you haven’t listened to the “Alabama Astronaut” podcast, I’d do that. It sent me down a whole trail of reading about religious snake handlers (sounds strange, but the podcast is great).

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

I'm planning to start Somebody Somewhere this weekend, so the renewal notice is very welcome! In other news, I'm mildly obsessed with this Brandi Carlile cover of "Home" from The Wiz, which was used in my favorite Season 3 episode of Ted Lasso (Mom City): https://youtu.be/Ug-10cLg9w8

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

I nominate Padam Padam by the illustrious Kylie Minogue as *a* song of summer…esp in this PRIDE month! Xo 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

I recommend making tulle tutus with friends for 🏳️‍🌈 pride parades. It’s so easy and they look great! I also recommend Michael Franti’s music for positive, summer soundtracks!

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

If anyone wants a Pride book rec, please read Butch Hijab Blues. A memoir about a queer Muslim immigrant. One of the best books I’ve ever read.

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Dame Sophie

I am so ready for summer reading season! My favorite beach read of last summer was Freya Marske’s gay/magic/Edwardian A Marvelous Light & I have been saving the sequel as a treat for myself. Another one I have been saving is Jasmine Guillory’s By the Book, which I know I will be delighted by, since I have liked every one of her others. And I have a connection to this one, so not a totally unbiased rec, but it just seems wrong not to mention Jessica Martin’s Shakespeare rom coms The Dane of My Existence + For the Love of the Bard, which have all the theater nerd New England vibes and Gilmore Girls-esque small town charm and banter that I think readers of this fine newsletter would adore!

Expand full comment

I just finished The Daydreams by Laura Hankin this morning and it was such a great way to kick off summer reading season. If you love 2000s era nostalgia, celebrity gossip, and want to unpack the unfair standards placed on young women on TV, you’re going to love this.

Expand full comment

Thank you, everyone for all the suggestions! This was so much fun to read, and I’m taking everything on board. 🥰

Expand full comment