117 Comments
author

Awww, they mentioned CMU just for your, our CMU graduate dame!

Expand full comment
author

A heartbreaking loss from previous years: Natasha, Pierre, and the Great Comet of 1812. Nominated for 12 awards and only won 2-- tragedy!!

Expand full comment
author

CHRISTOPHER JACKSON, HELLO SIR, HELLO

Expand full comment
author

Always SO weird to see Rachel Brosnahan with blonde hair.

Expand full comment
author

I love Kristen Chenoweth so much but that bronzer is Very Not Great

Expand full comment
author

I'll cop to being way more Enthusiastically Open To Broadway than Actually Knowledgeable About Broadway. Are any of my fellow quasi-newbies in the house this evening?

Expand full comment
author

I do like James Corden's cranberry blazer with the hot pink lapels

Expand full comment
author

WTF Choir Boy closed in March????? That show should have been a smash

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for taking part in this open thread experiment, friends! We'll do this again soon! <3

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

I am so happy Ali Stroker won, but I just want to say, it kind of says a lot that she had to sit backstage because there is no accessible way to get on the stage without walking up stairs and how awkward would that have been for her if she didn't win?

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

Catherine O'Hara's dress. That is all.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

THANK GOD THEY GOT THAT ONE RIGHT, TONY AWARD WINNER RACHEL CHAVKIN!!!!!

Expand full comment
author

I know nothing about Andre Shields but I can tell I will be crying by the end of this speech

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

Y’all I am at the Tonys and they’ve been doing commercial break karaoke and Billy Porter just did Rose’s Turn and I am DECEASED.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

*casually drops 2 of the Boys in the Band also went to CMU*

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

I'm bummed Amber didn't win, but I am SO PLEASED for Ali Stroker

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

Well shit now I guess we need to go see The Prom

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

First named woman to be named and also win for sound design!! Jessica Paz with Hadestown!

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

It’s completely normal that every time Billy Porter is on screen I work “Like me, he is also from Pittsburgh and went to CMU” into the conversation, right?

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

A better memory than the UNSPEAKABLE tragedy of the 2017 Tonys - Avenue Q's unexpected Best Musical win in 2004. I think I actually screamed out loud, I was so gleefully surprised.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

Josh Groban, my son whom I raised! (All the Comet kids are my children whom I raised, I don't make the rules.)

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie, Dame Margaret

Hello resident stage manager here, very bad human who forgot about the Tonys tonight (*THE* AWARDS CEREMONY OF MY PROFESSION) and was gardening instead, but I am here now and very open to gossiping about anyone I know in the industry (to a degree ha)

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

I would like Andre DeShields’ jacket please.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

I love Andrew Rannells

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

Oh no yes we are delayed one hour out here in mountain time, so we just had the Ain’t Too Proud performance, so I may have to bow out so I don’t get further spoiled!!

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Sophie

I'm pleased for Andre De Shields, but honestly, I was gunning for Patrick Page. God, his FACE makes me FEEL FEELINGS.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2019Liked by Dame Margaret

Bryan Cranston can get it.

Expand full comment

Still so mad Rachel Bloom isn't hosting tonight

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2019Liked by Dame Margaret

Yay Hadestown for set/sound/lighting design and orchestrations!

Expand full comment
Jun 9, 2019Liked by Dame Margaret

I’m putting into the universe that Rachel Chavkin will becomes a satisfying win!! Tonight is her night!

Expand full comment
author

Wow, The Ferryman is cleaning up among plays, huh?

Expand full comment
author

The Ferryman playwright is going rogue!! Live TV/theatre!!

Expand full comment

About time Celia Keenan-Bolger won a Tony!

Expand full comment

I was....very unimpressed with that choice for Hadestown, a show I do actually like.

Expand full comment

Anyone want to place their bets as to which song Hadestown will perform? I know “Why We Build the Wall” is the favorite.

Expand full comment

Also I would like to discuss Reeve Carney’s CHOICE of an outfit

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment