97 Comments
author

Thank you guys so much for watching this with me! Sophie is super under the weather and very sad to have missed out but man, this show.

Expand full comment
author

Like, I want to share more thoughts here, but I honestly have a hard time articulating how deeply the story of her borderline sexual assault impacts me.

Expand full comment
author

When Dirty Dancing came into things, I am pretty sure that Sophie and I clutched each others hands in joy.

Expand full comment
author

I really wish we could see both debaters, like CLUE

Expand full comment
author

yup-- just as good the second time

Expand full comment
author

The Two Mothers observation is EXTREMELY REAL

Expand full comment
author

My brother, skeptically, in the midst of Heidi describing her grandmother's work as a log runner-- "She doesn't seem big enough to have these ancestors."

Expand full comment
author

I have moved the bag of peanut butter M&Ms to the table within arms reach of me. I have a feeling I will come to regret this choice.

Expand full comment
author

And the crying is just pretty much incessant from here forward for me.

Expand full comment
author

The pause in her speech about clause four: first cry of the show so far!

Expand full comment
author

Hello, friends! Anyone watching with us in here?

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

"Daughter of a father" is one of the best things ever written.

Expand full comment
author

I encouraged my older brother-- former US history teacher-- to watch with us and his running fact-check commentary is..... not necessarily adding what he hopes to my experience!

Expand full comment
author

Did anyone else get to see this on stage?

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

This was my first time watching this, and I'm so glad I did. I like that it's something I can come back to in the future and notice something new, and have new takeaways, each time.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

Oh, I’m so excited - I saw the other girl (who was BRILLIANT) at the performance I saw live, so now I’ll have seen both of them.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

This theater was right next to where Frozen was playing which is why that was super funny live and she definitely riffed on that moment a little more!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

“A nice-off” is just so real.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

I used to do these kinds of speech competitions in High school and every similarly situated adult I know has a complicated relationship with a particularly successful performance of theirs. So I'm excited to see this.

Example: In 2001 the national Oratory winner won for a speech she did on her prominent persian nose, how she had been mocked for it her whole life, and how she needed to come to terms with it to truly love herself. Won a $25,000 scholarship for it.

Saw her last year. She's had a nose job. She decided really loving herself was looking how she wanted to.

End of the day, these things are always time capsules of someone you used to be that you've run so many times that they are unforgettable and indelible. Like being haunted by your own ghost.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

PREACH THURSDAY

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

I NEEDED THIS THE NIGHT BEFORE I VOTE!!!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

“Doc Martins, business casual pants, and a tee shirt.”

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

oh god this hurts

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

“I’m the daughter of a father.” I MEAN...the specificity of the burn.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

*Snaps* for the Scalia joke!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

The parliamentary debate is super bizarre. The "abolish the constitution" side consistently points to the gains of incremental change as evidence that the new constitution would inevitably better.

The power of incremental changes as the basis for radical change is an odd tack. Marx and Engles knew you had to go big or go home!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

"I do not know what this Harry Potter thing is so I won't debate it" is my favorite line.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

"Positive Male Energy"

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

The number of women who have been killed by the man who supposedly love them.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

Another thought about these Hammurabi code sections regarding the legality of beating women:

There's a strong throughline in Western law of creating people who exist outside the protections of law. At some level the existence of our rights are on perceptible when we have a counter example of someone who doesn't enjoy those rights and protections. In sum: people are the worst.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homo_sacer

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2020Liked by Dame Margaret

This guy (I don't know his name, but he's the only guy, so that's fine) has serious camp counselor energy and I am here for it

Expand full comment

::sob::

Expand full comment

This transition back to her as an adult is so brilliant.

Expand full comment

"It made him feel like I was crying right AT him" reminds me of TBD's excellent treatment on crying and how men are so ill equipped to respond to a woman crying appropriately.

Expand full comment

Oh god the Greek Tragedy crying - this is me when I heard that RGB had died.

Expand full comment

This will be my first time seeing this. And yes, I've voted already. I don't want to assume, but...has everyone already voted or made a plan to vote? Just checking...

Expand full comment

Thanks, TBD! This was my first time seeing it, and wow, that was great! And also, of course, sinking Supreme Court feelings.

Expand full comment

Loved this! Thank you, TwoBossyDames!

Expand full comment

I'm legit surprised 2/3 of audiences voted to keep the constitution.

Expand full comment

There's Thursday!

Expand full comment

Her sparkly Wonder Woman mug!

Expand full comment

This moment is so magical.

Expand full comment

Ummm. I'm super mad at the clinic in this story.

Expand full comment

I'm about 15 minutes behind so I'm hearing her discussion regarding the Violence against women act now.

There's a strong undercurrent in this performance that she does not actually care for the idea of enumerated rights and procedural justice at all. Her favorite amendment is the "and any right you can think of" one and her criticisms of the legal decisions fundamentally come down to a disappointment that the process isn't more results oriented and gets hung up on how things are written. The limitations are heartbreaking. The times that things are expanded beyond the obvious four corners are when she gets excited.

Is this a feminist libertarian play at its core?

Expand full comment

Every fifteen minutes she mentions this time she spent in Siberia but then never elaborates on it. I'm really getting blue balls on this forever promised slavic-centric content.

Дай людям что они хотят!

Expand full comment

One of my favorite books in high school was about Asa Mercer’s bride delivery service.

Expand full comment

That shot from behind 😍

Expand full comment

His character work is so good.

Expand full comment